How you say it is IMPORTANT

I came upon a blog this morning and it is so good that I need to share some of its ideas with you. The blog was talking about how you can change the meaning of what you want to convey by changing the tone of your delivery.

Here is an example:

Take this six word sentence: I didn’t give them those documents.

Say it out loud six times with emphasis on each of the six words in bold:

I didn’t give them those documents.

didn’t give them those documents.

I didn’t give them those documents.

I didn’t give them those documents.

I didn’t give them those documents.

I didn’t give them those documents.

You have just conveyed six different messages with the same six words.

Visit my website for information on my book “Presentations that Work”.

One response to “How you say it is IMPORTANT

  1. Another example of how delivery trumps content and how important inflection is as one of the elements of verbal delivery.

Leave a Reply

