Seven phrases to avoid in your presentation

We often say strange things without being conscious of them. Here are seven phrases that you should not use in your presentation:

  1. “Going forward”. Just what the heck does that mean? Is it the opposite of “going backwards”? Instead of saying:”I think the market is going to crash going forward”, why not try “I think the market is going to crash.”
  2. “Quite frankly”. I used to have a boss who would use this phrase every time just before he told a lie. It was a dead giveaway.
  3. “To be honest with you”. Gee…I am glad you have decided to be honest with me. Thanks. So what you don’t say this again, does it mean you are not being honest with me?
  4. “At the end of the day”. You really mean to say “finally”, right?
  5. “Uniquely qualified”. No one is really uniquely qualified to do anything.
  6. “Full service firm”. There is no such thing. No one firm can do everything. Not even Wal-Mart.
  7. “My friend”. Unless you have been living under a rock, I bet you heard this repeatedly during the last presidential election. Stop already! I am not your friend. You don’t even know me.

Let me know if you have more of these. I know you do. So post a comment!

8 responses to “Seven phrases to avoid in your presentation

  1. I think if you were to expand the list, “Thinking outside the box” has to be on there.

    How about thinking creatively instead and put this 1990s cliche to sleep.

  2. I would add “Actually, ” to that list. It goes along the same lines of “To be honest…”

  3. In my opinion ?

  4. Sandra…that’s good too. Thanks.

  5. Your #1 is also my #1, except I put in third in my own list. ‘Going forward’ really drives me nuts!

  6. “Quite Frankly” means “Not Quite Frankly” as in you will be only quite frank, not totally frank. I hate that too!!!!!

  7. Margie Brownsberger

    How about “get on board” as in “We all need to get on board with these changes and make a difference.” I think that translates “Quit your whining. It’s going to happen, with or without you.”

Leave a Reply

