A short video on why most PowerPoint presentations suck

I recorded this video using http://www.presentermedia.com’s 3-D animation. I am not a big fan of cheesy clip art and animation in slides. But I am going to make an exception in this case. The 3-D stick figures are classy and are not obnoxious.

3 responses to “A short video on why most PowerPoint presentations suck

  1. The issue of what makes a graphic cheesy came up on the Duarte blog recently, when a post praised graphic recorders (who illustrate live talks by hand). But someone commented that the resulting illustrations look like clipart, and I agree. (Also see the recent Duarte post that mocks the use of cheesy photos, like a handshake to signify partnership – http://blog.duarte.com/2012/02/duarte-comedy-episode-2-avoid-cliches/#disqus_thread – there’s a link in my comment there to the earlier post.)

    The whole issue is quite contentious. People like originality – hence the dislike of clipart, and handshakes! Elegance is part of the mix, too, which I think is why – along with being original – the 3D animated figures look good. However, they do remind me of those black Screen Bean figures in PPT that have been given a bad wrap.

    Norm – or anybody else – what’s your take on the similarities and differences between the 3D figures in the video and the 2D Screen Beans? (See http://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/images/results.aspx?qu=screen%20beans&ctt=1#mt:1| for examples of Screen Beans.)

    • Craig….I am not sure I am familiar with those black screen bean figures in PPT. Are you referring to those Microsoft black figures? I got into trouble a long time ago when I was doing some training for LAX airport system in California. I used one of those figures that happened to have a white line drawn in the form of a smile. One fellow in the audience filed a compliant to management that I was using a black minstrel figure. Management dismissed the compliant and I stopped using that stuff. People can be so sensitive these days. I think the 3-D animated figures I used look pretty good and as long as I don’t over-do it, it should be OK. I also use airsketch in my presentation to do hand drawn annotations on the slides. The audience likes it. It makes the slide more lively. I don’t see the objection to using a handshake photo to illustrate partnership. It is what it is.

      Norman

  2. Definitely consider that which you stated. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to take note of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst folks consider concerns that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as well as outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

